Criminal Defense in Arkansas is Bowman Lewis Law's Top Goal

Freedom of Information

Arkansas Freedom of Information Lawyers 

Arkansas court decisions have clearly stated that the intent of the Freedom of Information Act was to establish the right of the public to be fully apprised of the conduct of public business. City of Fayetteville v. Edmark, 304 Ark. 179 (1990). As a rule, statutes enacted for the public benefit are to be interpreted most favorably to the public. The Freedom of Information Act was passed wholly in the public interest and is to be liberally interpreted to the end that its praiseworthy purposes may be achieved. Laman v. McCord, 245 Ark. 401 (1968).

We are familiar with the FOI law applicable in Arkansas, and we represent non-profits, press and private citizens in all aspects of Freedom of Information law - from requests to litigation.  Any citizen can make a FOI request, and we are here to protect your rights.

Here are some key facts to keep in mind:

  • An agency subject to FOI Requests generally has 3 business days to comply with said request.
  • If a complaint is filed for failure to respond, the courts must usually grant a hearing date within 7 business days.
  • Arkansas has a strong FOI law, and we need to both use and protect it.


Please feel free to submit any requests for FOI related articles via the contact menu on the website.  

For FOI assistance, contact Seth L. Bowman (888) 674-5327.

Arkansas Criminal Defense Lawyers Bowman Lewis Law

Bowman | Lewis PLLC
1719 Broadway Street
Little Rock, AR 72206
(888) 674-5327


Seth Bowman

Like Us

Follow Us

Bowman & Lewis Arkansas Criminal Justice Attorneys

1719 Broadway Street, Little Rock, AR 72206
909 South Street, Mountain Home, AR 72653


We take certain cases in all 75 counties.  Our practice is Statewide.  We routinely take felonies in the following areas.

Counties served:  We routinely take cases in Pulaski County, Faulkner County, Benton County, Washington County, Sebastian County, Saline County, Garland County, Jefferson County, White County, Lonoke County, Crawford County, Miller County, Pope County, Crittendon County, Yell County, and Baxter County. 

Cities served:  Little Rock, Fort Smith, Fayetteville, Springdale, North Little Rock, Conway, Rogers, Pine Bluff, Bentonville, Hot Springs, Benton, Texarkana, Sherwood, Jacksonville, Russellville, Bella Vista, Cabot, Searcy, Van Buren, Blytheville, Harrison, Mountain Home, Helena, Camden, Magnolia, Arkadelphia, Batesville, Hope, Monticello, Stuttgart, Clarksville, Newport, Heber Springs, De Queen, Warren, Crossett, and Morrilton.