Sexual Charges

When you are charged with a sexual crime, you are not just facing potential prison time. Sexual Registration requirements last for a minimum of 15 years and can even apply to misdemeanors. These types of cases often go to trial, and you need someone who is willing to present your case effectively.

There are a multitude of sex crimes in the State of Arkansas.  These range in severity from simply urinating in public to rape of a minor, the latter carries a 25 year minimum prison sentence.  Often times the law is different than people, and attorneys, think it should be.  The sexual crime adds a component to a criminal defense case.  You might need your attorney to file a Rape Shield Motion if, for example, you want to show prior consensual relations with the accuser.  These are often contested.

Here are some of the laws that can come into play for sexual crimes in Arkansas:

  • § 5-14-112 – Indecent Exposure – Class A misdemeanor; Class D felony
  • § 5-27-403 – Promoting Child Sexual Performance – Class B felony
  • § 5-27-402 – Employing Children in Sexual Performance – Class B felony; Class C felony
  • § 5-27-303 – Engaging Children in Printed Sexual Acts – Class A felony; Class B felony
  • § 5-26-202 – Incest – Class C felony
  • § 5-27-306 – Internet Stalking of a Child – Class A felony; Class B felony
  • § 5-14-123 – Knowingly Transferring HIV/AIDS – Class A felony
  • § 5-14-123 – Rape – Class Y felony
  • § 5-14-124 – Sexual Assault First Degree – Class A felony
  •  § 5-14-125 – Sexual Assault Second Degree – Class B felony; Class D felony
  • § 5-14-126 – Sexual Assault Third Degree – Class C felony
  • § 5-14-127 – Sexual Assault Fourth Degree – Class A misdemeanor; Class D felony
  • § 5-14-110 – Sexual Indecency with a Child – Class D felony
  • § 5-27-305 – Transportation of Minors for Prohibited Sexual Conduct – Class A felony

It is not uncommon for younger people and cellphones to get tied up in these laws.  We’ve dealt with situations where a juvenile is charged with sending another juvenile sexual pictures.  Under the law, if they are convicted – they would still go on the sexual registry for the minimum of 15 years before you can petition to be removed.

These are complex and emotional situations.  We understand and do our best to assist clients through the hard times.

First Time Offender Act

Act 346 is a powerful tool known as the First Time Offender's Act. There is a specific form to file, and we often see attorneys do these improperly.

Did you go to ADC?

There is no provision to seal your record if you went to ADC. You can either seek restoration of gun rights or a pardon. These are complicated and we recommend you discuss them with us directly.
Vestibulum erat lectus, pharetra nec mi eu, congue commodo dui. Aliquam in volutpat dolor, sed consequat ipsum. Integer nec odio rhoncus, consectetur ex et, rutrum felis. Sed vitae urna est.
Vestibulum erat lectus, pharetra nec mi eu, congue commodo dui. Aliquam in volutpat dolor, sed consequat ipsum. Integer nec odio rhoncus, consectetur ex et, rutrum felis. Sed vitae urna est.
Vestibulum erat lectus, pharetra nec mi eu, congue commodo dui. Aliquam in volutpat dolor, sed consequat ipsum. Integer nec odio rhoncus, consectetur ex et, rutrum felis. Sed vitae urna est.

Create your account